Brent McMahon Captures Cobra Ironman 70.3 Title

Brent McMahon Captures Cobra Ironman 70.3 Title

By Jamil Buergo

MACTAN – Two-time Olympian Brent McMahon of Canada won the 2014 Cobra Ironman 70.3 Triathlon last August 3 at the Shangri-La Mactan Resort and Spa. A year after finishing fifth in the same event, McMahon crossed the finishline after a gruelling 1.9Km Swim, 90Km Bike and 21Km run in 3:59:05. McMahon, who will turn 34 next month, pulled away in the run leg for his third 70.3 win of the year. “It was great to be back again and be fit. I prepared for this race and came here not just to do it, but to actually win it,” McMahon told reporters.

McMahon was followed by Australian Sam Betten, who finished the race with 4:07:30. Casey Munro was third but was later disqualified due to race rule violations. Cameron Brown of New Zealand who came in fourth took the third place. Australian Matt Burton came in fourth with 4:22 and rounding off the top 5 is another Australian Justin Granger with a time of 4:43.

In the women’s pro elite, Caroline Steffen of Switzerland captured her third straight Cobra Ironman top finish for women by finishing sixth overall with 4:32:34. Steffen later said in an interview that it was definitely one of the hottest races she’s done in her life and if invited again next year, she’ll drop everything and come back to do it again. “Racing in this country will always be special to me,” Steffen said “This year was tough, it was a challenging route.” Rebecca Hoschke of Australia came in second for the women’s pro elite finishing in 4:38:34 while fellow Australian Belinda Granger (4:48:32) and Dimity-Lee Duke (4:49:54) placed third and fourth respectively, Rounding of the top 5 women’s pro elite is American Katya Mayer with 4:54:24.

August Benedicto captured the men’s Filipino elite title with 4:34:55, besting last year’s winner Banjo Norte (4:40:44) and Cebuano Philip Duenas (4:41:59). It was a perfect bithday gift for Benedicto who turned 30 the day before the race. He then told reporters after the race that he improved his swimming this year after hiring the services of German swimming coach Yorgan Sach. Joyette Jopson of Alaska Tri-Aspire Team took the women’s pro elite crown by clocking in at 5:28:31. She bested Maria Hodges (5:29:26) and Jenny Rose Guerrero (5:40:40).

This year’s race also attracted a lot of celebrity triathletes such as Matteo Guidicelli, Ryan Agoncillo, Piolo Pascual, Paul Jake Castillo, Kim Atienza, former Congressman Gilbert Remulla, Senator Pia Cayetano, Gretchen Fulido, Couples Anthony Pangilinan and Maricel Laxa, and British Formula One driver Jenson Button of McLaren Mercedes.

The event was sponsored by Alaska Milk Corp., Aqua Sphere, Asia Miles, Cathay Pacific, Century Tuna, David’s Salon, Devant, Gatorade, Globe Telecom, GU Energy Gel, Intercare, Kenneth Cobonpue, Asics, 2Go, Oakley, Pinkberry, Prudential Guarantee, Safeguard, Suarez and Sons, Inc., Timex, Finisher Pix and Shangri-La’s Mactan Resorts and Spa.

The Philippine STAR, MultiSport Magazine and ABS-CBN Sports Action are media partners with BE Resorts, Crimson Resort and Spa, Movenpick Resort and Spa and Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino as hotel partners.

Photo Gallery  by Marlon A. Bernabe

Follow the writer on Twitter: [social link=”” icon=”62218″]

, , , , , , , , , ,