Two Batang Gilas cagers invited in the 10th edition of Basketball Without Borders Asia

24 May  2018

NEW YORK, MIES, MUMBAI – Raven Cortez of De La Salle-Zobel and Forthsky Padrigao of Ateneo are among the 66 boys and girls from 16 countries and territories who will participate in the 10th edition of Basketball Without Borders (BWB) Asia.

BWB Asia 2018 will be held May 30 – June 2 at The NBA Academy India in Delhi National Capital Region (NCR), marking the second time that the NBA and FIBA’s global basketball development and community outreach program will be held in India. Nike will serve as the official partner.

Corey Brewer (Oklahoma City Thunder; U.S.), Caris LeVert (Brooklyn Nets; U.S.), Kelly Olynyk (Miami Heat; Canada; BWB Americas 2009), Dwight Powell (Dallas Mavericks; Canada), two-time WNBA Champion Ruth Riley, and former WNBA player Ebony Hoffman will coach the top high school age campers from throughout the Asia-Pacific region.

BWB Asia 2018 will feature two current prospects from NBA Academies, the league’s signature elite player development initiative that consists of a network of elite basketball training centers around the world for top male and female prospects from outside the U.S. Since October 2016, NBA Academies have been launched in Canberra, Australia; Jinan, Urumqi and Zhuji, China; Delhi NCR, India; Mexico City, Mexico; and Thies, Senegal.

Players and coaches will lead the campers through a variety of activities on and off the court, including movement efficiency, positional skill development, shooting and skills competitions, 5-on-5 games, and daily life skills seminars focusing on health, leadership and communication. One boy and one girl will be named BWB Asia 2018 MVPs at the conclusion of the four-day camp.

BWB Asia 2018 will be preceded by a basketball development camp May 27 – 29 for the 18 female prospects from throughout India as part of The NBA Academies Women’s Program. 1996 Olympic

Gold Medalist and Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame member Jennifer Azzi, Riley and former college coach Blair Hardiek – the global technical directors for women’s programming across the league’s seven academies – will oversee the camp.

BWB Asia 2018 and The NBA Academies Women’s Program camp will also include a variety of NBA Cares and Jr. NBA community outreach efforts with youth in New Delhi in partnership with local community organizations, including basketball clinics for more than 150 youth from the Reliance Foundation Jr. NBA program and the NBA Basketball Schools in New Delhi. These programs will highlight the power of sport to promote cultural understanding while teaching the importance of a healthy, active lifestyle and the values of the game, including teamwork, respect, determination and community.

Current NBA assistant coaches Bret Brielmaier (Nets), Darvin Ham (Atlanta Hawks), Ryan Saunders (Minnesota Timberwolves), and Mike Wells (Utah Jazz) will also serve as BWB Asia 2018 coaches. Patrick Hunt (President of the World Association of Basketball Coaches; Australia) will be the camp director. Casey Smith (Mavericks) will serve as the camp’s athletic trainer.

Nike, a BWB global partner since 2002, will outfit the campers and coaches with Nike apparel and footwear.

BWB has reached more than 3,190 participants from 127 countries and territories since 2001, with more than 50 former campers drafted into the NBA or signed as free agents. A record 24 former BWB campers were on opening-night rosters for the 2017-18 season.

The NBA and FIBA have staged 53 BWB camps in 33 cities across 27 countries on six continents. More than 250 current and former NBA, WNBA and FIBA players have joined more than 200 NBA team personnel from all 30 NBA teams to support BWB across the world. BWB Asia was previously held in India in 2008.

The NBA Academy India, an elite basketball training center in Delhi NCR for the top male and female prospects from throughout India and the first of its kind in the country, officially opened in May 2017 and builds on the NBA’s existing basketball and youth development initiatives in India. The Reliance Foundation Jr. NBA program has reached more than 6 million youth and trained more than 5,000 physical education instructors nationwide since its launch in 2013. In April 2017, the NBA launched The NBA Basketball School, a network of tuition-based basketball development programs open to male and female players from outside the U.S. ages 6-18. NBA Basketball Schools have been launched in Mumbai, New Delhi, Pune and Punjab as part of a multiyear agreement with India On Track (IOT), one of India’s leading sports management, marketing and development companies. NBA Champion Kevin Durant became the first active NBA player to visit The NBA Academy India in July 2017.

Follow BWB using the hashtag #BWBAsia on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Follow The NBA Academies Women’s Program using the hashtag #NBAAcademy on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Find out more about NBA Academies at and on Instagram (nbaacademy).

Additional 2018 BWB camps in Serbia and South Africa will be announced at a later date.

The following is a complete list of players participating in the 10th BWB Asia camp (rosters are subject to change):

Girls Roster:

Last Name First Name Country
Price Paige Australia
Wise Lauren Australia
Bowyer Indiah Australia
Liu Guanpeng Liu China
Yuan Meiya Yuan China
Gao Jianjun Gao China
Tang Ziqi Tang China
Zhao Dan Zhao China
**Ahlawat Khushi India
**Baliyan Riya India
**Behal Priyanka India
**Deodhar Siya India
**Desai Rajvai India
**Dongre Khushi India
**Jayakumar Monica India
**Johny Anmariya India
**Kartik Sunishka India
**Karva Neha India
**Niranjan Grishma India
**Ramesh Sanjana India
**Rani Radha India
**Rani Sreekala India
**Senthil Kumar Pushpa India
**Taunque Asmat India
**Yadav Vaishnavi India
**Zacariah Ann Mary India

Boys Roster:

Last Name First Name Country/Territory
Bird Clancy Joseph Lurey Australia
Giddey Joshua James Australia
Foster Daniel Australia
Bofinger Lachlan Joseph Australia
Dennis Kian Jamie Australia
Wu Yonghao China
Li Yuanxin China
Wu Chao China
Zhang Zhiyao China
Chen Chiang-Shuang Chinese Taipei
Ma Chien-Hao Chinese Taipei
Anson Lam Man Kei Hong Kong
*Singh Princepal India
*Sandhu Amaan India
Tomar Prashant India
Singh Harprett India
Priyanshu Priyanshu India
Tomar Harshwardhan India
Kokate Pritish India
Sebastian Darryl Indonesia
Vahedi Mohammad Sina Iran
Aliyari Dehkordi Amir Hossein Iran
Aghajanpour Matin Iran
Matsuo Kaiga Japan
Ehara Shintaro Japan
Mitani Keijiro Japan
Belozor Vassiliy Kazakhstan
Khoueiry Marc Lebanon
Tannoury Andre Lebanon
John Tang Jun Kai Malaysia
Murray Taine New Zealand
Jenkins Samuel New Zealand
Stallworth Ezekiel New Zealand
Stodart Mac New Zealand
Padrigao Rence “Forthsky” Philippines
Cortez Raven Angelo Philippines
Faustino Amado Reuben David Singapore
Moon JeongHyeon South Korea
Cha Minsuk South Korea
Preechahan Master Tanawat Thailand

Follow the writer on Twitter: [social link=”” icon=”62218″]

, , , , ,